SwimPEI AGM 2016

The SwimPEI AGM is tentatively booked for

October 8, 2016 at Credit Union Place in Summerside.

Anyone wishing to offer for a position on the SwimPEI Board is welcome to submit their name to Nicole at the SwimPEI office and she will assist you in the process.

The constitution for SwimPEI can be reviewed here:

Swim PEI Constitution & Bylaws 2015

Nicole’s email is swimpei@sportpei.pe.ca

Update from Swimming Canada

Hello All,

As you know, Swimming Canada has been working on a comprehensive competition review over the past several months. This has been an ongoing process and I am proud to share with you today the first phase of our resulting Competition Improvement Plan for national events:


In addition, the supporting Preliminary Meet Information:


and 2017 time standards have been finalized.:

https://swimming.ca/content/uploads/2016/06/2017-standards.pdf have been finalized.

Change can be challenging, but it can also be exciting and present tremendous opportunity. Refreshing Swimming Canada’s national events is crucial to our future success in becoming a world-leading swimming nation. When making changes such as these it is critical to monitor their effectiveness continually. Swimming Canada will evaluate the changes on an ongoing basis and make adjustments as necessary. The improvement we need to meet our goals as a nation dictates that we make the most of every opportunity, maximize our assets and work together as a community to build a stronger, faster and deeper pool of swimmers to represent Canada.


Ahmed El-Awadi

Chief Executive Officer, Swimming Canada


Bluephins name new head coach

Canadian Olympic Medalist to coach Charlottetown Bluephins
Charlottetown, PE – Members of the Charlottetown Bluephins Aquatic Club (CBAC) will soon benefit from the leadership and coaching skills of a three-time Canadian Olympic medalist when they welcome their new head coach. The CBAC Board of Directors is pleased to announce the appointment of Tom Ponting as head coach of the swim club effective August 1, 2016.
“We are very excited to welcome a swimmer of Tom Ponting’s calibre as head coach,” said David Harrison, Board president. “We expect Tom’s Olympic-level experience and leadership will bring our swim club to a whole new level and will inspire our swimmers to achieve even greater success.”
Ponting’s impressive swimming career includes winning a medal at three consecutive Olympic Games. He won a silver medal in the 4×100 medley relay at both the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics and the 1988 Seoul Olympics, and a bronze medal in the 4×100 medley relay at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics. He also achieved three world records and 33 national titles throughout his lengthy career, all in the butterfly event. Ponting has coached competitive swimming for almost 20 years since retiring from the sport and is a certified NCCP Level 3 coach. He is currently assistant coach of the Calgary Winter Club, in Calgary, Alberta.

2015 Swim PEI Awards

SwimPEI held the annual AGM and 2015 awards ceremony on Saturday October 3,2015.

A very special thank you to Nick Murray, Sport PEI, Darwin Gilcash from ADL, and Naomi Bree for presenting the awards and for being a special part of the ceremony.

Congratulations to all the winners.

2014/15 Top 10 & Under Courtney McBride
2014/15 Top 10 & Under Jonathan Hyndman
2014/15 Top 11-12 Alexa McQuaid
2014/15 Top 11-12 Charlie Morse
2014/15 Top 13-14 Jacqueline McQuaid
2014/15 Top 13-14 Logan Palmer
2014/15 Top 15-17 Sarah Williams
2014/15 Top 15-17 Matthew Smith
2014/15 Top 18 & Over Rebekah Nitschmann
2014/15 Top 18 & over Allen Boshnyak


Swimming ADL 1

Pictured above Darwim Gilcash representing ADL

Bridgett Scott – Coach of the Year, Scott Drummond – Volunteer of the Year,

David Harrison- Administrator of the Year

Swimming Award Winners

Pictured above Marguerite Middleton representing SwimPEI

Charlie Morse- Alex Campbell Award , David Campbell – Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award and Naomi Bree who presented the Barney Bree award to Evan Tynski( not pictured)